Now Available: Tracy Chapman, Greatest Hits

Monday, November 23, 2015
Now Available: Tracy Chapman, Greatest Hits
> With the caveat that it's never really all that shocking when an artist that's achieved even so much as a modicum of success is given the best-of treatment, it's actually rather remarkable that Tracy Chapman released her self-titled debut album in 1988, has put out an additional seven studio albums since then, and yet has never before been the subject of a greatest-hits collection in the US…until now.

Now in stores, Tracy Chapman's Greatest Hits features 18 tracks selected by Chapman herself, including her two top-10 hits, “Fast Car” and “Give Me One Reason,” her additional Billboard Hot 100 singles “Talkin' 'bout a Revolution,” “Baby Can I Hold You,” and “Crossroads,” and 13 other songs from throughout the 27 years she's spent on Elektra Records, plus a closing track that those who've tried to catch Chapman's TV appearances will be thrilled to see: her cover of “Stand by Me” from her 2015 appearance on The Late Show with David Letterman.

Not that we wouldn't happily recommend any of Chapman's studio albums, but Greatest Hits is a great glimpse into her career and a perfect way to find out more about a singer who's often remembered for her debut single. If you only know Chapman for that track, then we'd humbly recommend that you pick up a copy of this collection, pop it into your fast car's CD player, and educate yourself.

Here's the track listing:
1. Telling Stories (2000)
2. Baby Can I Hold You (1988)
3. Change (2005)
4. The Promise (1995)
5. Open Arms (1992)
6. Subcity (1989)
7. Fast Car (1988)
8. Bang Bang Bang (1992)
9. Crossroads (1989)
10. Speak The Word (2000)
11. Smoke And Ashes (1995)
12. Sing For You (Single Edit) (2008)
13. You're The One (2002)
14. Save Us All (2008)
15. All That You Have Is Your Soul (1989)
16. Talkin' Bout A Revolution (1988)
17. Give Me One Reason (1995)
18. Stand By Me (Live at The Late Show With David Letterman) (2015)