Out Now: Alphaville, FOREVER YOUNG

Friday, March 15, 2019
Alphaville FOREVER YOUNG Product Shot


It took awhile for them to find their foothold in mainstream America, but when Alphaville released their debut single, “Big in Japan,” on January 12, 1984, they were an instant sensation just about everywhere else in the world, landing in the top 10 of the UK Singles chart and climbing all the way to #1 in Germany, Sweden, and Switzerland. (Mind you, it also topped the Billboard Dance Chart, so at least the cool kids in America were listening, even if top-40 radio hadn’t fallen for the group yet.)


From there, Alphaville found themselves with another top-10 hit through much of Europe (“Sounds Like a Melody”), but it was the release of the title track of their debut album, FOREVER YOUNG, that made them immortal. This, by the way, is one – but not the only – reason why Rhino has just released a Super Deluxe edition of that album.


FOREVER YOUNG: SUPER DELUXE EDITION is a 3-CD / 1-DVD / 1-LP set, and if that seems like an awful lot of Alphaville, well, you’re not wrong, but you won’t hearing the band’s fans complaining…and we’re guessing you’re among their number if you’re reading this, so read on to find out exactly what’s contained on this set!


  • Remastered original album
  • Original single versions
  • B-sides
  • 12” singles
  • Rare demos
  • Alternative versions
  • Early German compositions
  • 60-minute documentary
  • 4 music videos
  • A 24-page vinyl-sized booklet featuring rare and previously-unreleased photos, liner notes, quotes, and production notes by the band, its former A&R  rep, and the producers.

Excited? You should be! And if you’re not, well, here’s the full track listing, which ought to do the trick for just about anyone!

Super Deluxe (LP/DVD/3CD)

CD1 & LP: Original Album Remastered

1.    "A Victory Of Love (Remaster)"
2.    "Summer In Berlin (Remaster)"
3.    "Big In Japan (Remaster)"
4.    "To Germany With Love (Remaster)"
5.    "Fallen Angel (Remaster)"
6.    "Forever Young (Remaster)"
7.    "In The Mood (Remaster)"
8.    "Sounds Like A Melody (Remaster)"
9.    "Lies (Remaster)"
10.  "The Jet Set (Remaster)"

CD2: Original Singles, B-Sides, 12" Versions
1.    "Big In Japan (Single Version) [Remaster]"
2.    "Seeds [Remaster]"
3.    "Sounds Like A Melody (Single Version) [Remaster]"
4.    "The Nelson Highrise Sector 1-The Elevator (Single Version) [Remaster]"
5.    "Forever Young (Version Rapide) [Remaster]"
6.    "Welcome To The Sun [Remaster]"
7.    "The Jet Set (Single Remix) [Remaster]"
8.    "Golden Feeling [Remaster]"
9.    "Big In Japan (Extended Remix) [Remaster]"
10.  "Sounds Like A Melody (Special Long Version) [Remaster]"
11.  "The Nelson Highrise Sector 1-The Elevator [Remaster]"
12.  "Forever Young (Special Extended Dance Mix) [Remaster]"
13.  "The Jet Set (Jellybean Mix) [Remaster]"
14.  "Big In Japan (Extended Instrumental) [Remaster]"
15.  "The Jet Set (Dub Mix) [Remaster]"

CD3: Demo Versions
1.    "A Victory Of Love (Demo Remix) [Remaster]"
2.    "Summer In Berlin (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
3.    "Big In Japan (Demo Remix) [Remaster]"
4.    "To Germany With Love (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
5.    "Fallen Angel (Demo Remix) [Remaster]"
6.    "Forever Young (Demo Remix) [Remaster]"
7.    "In The Mood (Demo Remix) [Remaster]"
8.    "Sounds Like A Melody (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
9.    "Lies (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
10.  "The Jet Set (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
11.  "Leben Ohne Ende/Seeds (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
12.  "Traumtänzer (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
13.  "Blauer Engel (Original Demo) [Remaster]"
14.  "Romance (Demo Sketch) [Remaster]"
15.  "Colours (Instrumental)  [Remaster]"
16.  "Into The Dark (Demo Remix) [Remaster]"

New 60-minute documentary "Never Grow Up - The Story Of Forever Young," featuring new interviews with Marian Gold and Bernhard Lloyd (Alphaville), Wolfgang Loos and Colin Pearson (the album producers) as well as the designer of the original album artwork.

Original music videos: "Forever Young", "Big In Japan," "The Jet Set & Sounds Like A Melody"

For more information, click the buttons below: