Roxette - Bag Of Trix - Music From The Roxette Vaults Available From Rhino

Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Roxette BAG OF TRIX Cover





Available Digitally Starting October 30 And As A 4-LP Boxed Set Or 3-CD Set On December 11

Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults – is a four-record collection of 46 previously unreleased or long since deleted Roxette recordings, including demos, alternative mixes, Spanish versions, bonus tracks, and other fun stuff from the Swedish band's long, illustrious, and extraordinarily successful career (1986 - 2016). 


Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults be released digitally in four volumes starting on October 30 and running through to December 11, when the final digital volume and the two physical releases - a 4LP boxed set and 3CD set - will be released.


BAG OF TRIX – MUSIC FROM THE ROXETTE VAULTS (VOL 1) will be released on October 30 and consists of 12 songs recorded over a 30-year period. Highlights include a demo of "Like Lovers Do," which was recorded during an early pre-recording session for Roxette's debut album Pearls Of Passion in the summer of 1986, and a new single "Let Your Heart Dance With Me," which was leftover from the Good Karma recordings in 2016.


BAG OF TRIX offers unique insights into one of Sweden's most fascinating pop group careers. Check out Brian Malouf's American single mix of "Joyride," Roxette's fourth #1 song on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the spring of 1991. It is a classic in the Roxette catalog in its album version, but few have probably heard this intense and in-your-face single mix. 


BAG OF TRIX also offers Marie Fredriksson's and Per Gessle's acoustic demo of "Hotblooded," as well as an unplugged version of their second US #1 "Listen To Your Heart" which, together with their version of the Beatles masterpiece "Help!," was recorded in the Abbey Road studios in London during the Autumn of 1995.  And for Marie Fredriksson's millions of fans, three home-recorded demo versions of her songs: "Pocketful Of Rain," "Beautiful Boy," and "Waiting For The Rain," are now available.


"Both Marie and I loved to be in the studio and record our music, and looking back at it now; it's quite overwhelming how much material we did produce—a lot more than we ever released. But I guess we were so spurred on by the whole fantastic Roxette circus we were in at the time," Per Gessle says with a smile. 


"A lot of what was then 'only' put out as bonus material on CD singles in Japan or maybe didn't see a release at all, today feels like an interesting part of our catalog. And that's why I think that the 'Bag Of Trix' trip can offer quite an interesting listening experience, especially if you have followed us over the years."


October 30       Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults (Vol 1) - Digital release

November 13   Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults (Vol 2) - Digital release

November 27   Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults (Vol 3) - Digital release

December 11   Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults (Vol 4) - Digital release


December 11   Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults - 4-LP boxed set

December 11   Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults - 3-CD set


Bag of Trix – Music From The Roxette Vaults



Volume 1

1. “Help!” (Abbey Road Sessions - Nov 15, 1995)

2. “Listen To Your Heart” (Abbey Road Sessions – Nov 15, 1995)

3. “Let Your Heart Dance With Me” (Good Karma Outtake 2016) ***

4. “Waiting For The Rain” (Studio Vinden Demo 1997)

5.“ Joyride” (Brian Malouf US Single Mix 1991)

6. “Like Lovers Do” (Montezuma Demo - Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

7. “Pocketful Of Rain” (Skinnarviksringen Demo - Feb 1993) ***

8. “Wish I Could Fly” (Live EMP Sky Church, Seattle Oct 7, 2000) ***

9. “Happy Together” (T&A Demo - Jul 1-2, 1998)

10. “Beautiful Boy” (Studio Vinden Demo - Mar 2000) ***

11. “You Don’t Understand Me” (T&A Demo – Jul 30, 1995) ***

12. “Hotblooded” (T&A Demo – Dec 13, 1990) ***


Volume 2

1. “The Look” (Abbey Road Sessions – Nov 15, 1995)

2. “Tu No Me Comprendes” (Spanish version of You Don’t Understand Me) ***

3 .“Soul Deep” (Tom Lord-Alge Mix)

4. “Always The Last To Know” (Studio Vinden Demo 1998) ***

5. “Sleeping In My Car” (The Stockholm Demo Version 1993)

6. “Watercolours In The Rain” (T&A Demo – Jan 24, 1990) ***

7. “From One Heart To Another” (Montezuma Demo – Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

8. “I Remember You” (T&A Demo – Mar 15, 1990) *** 

9. “It Hurts” (T&A Demo – Aug 3, 1995) ***

10. “Perfect Day” (T&A Demo – Aug 23, 1990) ***

11. “New World” (Studio Vinden Demo 1996)

12. “Lo Siento” (Spanish version of Salvation)


Volume 3

1. “Piece Of Cake” (Good Karma Outtake 2016) ***

2. “You Don’t Understand Me” (Abbey Road Sessions – Nov 15, 1995)

3. “Dangerous” (Swedish Single Version)

4. “Every Day” (Studio Vinden Demo – Mar 2000) ***

5. “The Big L” (T&A Demo – Mar 29, 1990) ***

6. “It Will Take A Long Long Time” (Modern Rock Version) (Have A Nice Day Outtake 1999)

7. “Little Girl” (Studio Vinden Demo - March 2000) *** 

8. “Cry” (Live Norrköping Dec 16, 1988)

9. “Goodbye To You” (Montezuma demo – Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

10. “Go To Sleep” (Skinnarviksringen demo - Feb 1993) ***

11. “Quisiera Volar” (Spanish version of Wish I Could Fly)


Volume 4

1. “The Centre Of The Heart (Is A Suburb To The Brain) ” (Have A Nice Day Outtake 1999) ***

2. “Pearls And Passion” (Montezuma Demo – Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

3. “Things Will Never Be The Same” (T&A Demo – Dec 13, 1990) ***

4. “Entering Your Heart” (Room Service Outtake 2001)

5. “Cooper (Closer To God) ” (Have A Nice Day Outtake 1999)

6. “Joy Of A Toy” (Montezuma Demo – Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

7. “It Takes You No Time To Get Here” (Room Service Outtake1999) ***

8. “Before You Go To Sleep” (T&A demo – Oct 23, 1992) ***

9. “I Was So Lucky” (The Golden Blow) (Have A Nice Day Outtake 1999) ***

10. “Jag älskar (Surrender) ”” (Montezuma Demo – Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

11. “Som i en dröm (So Far Away) ” (Montezuma Demo – Jul 25-26, 1986) ***

12. “Alguien” (Spanish version of Anyone 1999)


*** Previously unreleased

For more information, click the buttons below: