Travie McCoy and Gym Class Heroes Detail 2005-2011 Studio Album Vinyl Reissues

Thursday, April 13, 2023

This summer, Rhino will release vinyl versions of all four studio albums Gym Class Heroes recorded between 2005 and 2011, plus McCoy’s solo debut, Lazarus. As Cruel as School Children (2006), Lazarus (2010), and The Papercut Chronicles II (2011) will be available as single LPs. The Papercut Chronicles (2005) and The Quilt (2008) will be released as double LPs. All five albums are available now to pre-order.

Gym Class Heroes teamed with guest vocalists for two multi-platinum Top 10 hits – “Cupid’s Chokehold” with Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy and “Stereo Hearts” with Adam Levine of Maroon 5 – the latter of which recently surpassed one billion streams on Spotify. The formula worked again when Gym Class Heroes’ frontman Travie McCoy scored a multi-platinum hit with “Billionaire,” a song from his solo debut featuring Bruno Mars.

In celebration of ATL 75 - Atlantic Records' campaign for 75 years of innovative releases - a new Club Mix of “Cupid’s Chokehold” by DJ Sliink is out today. Newark native DJ Sliink pioneered the Jersey Club style of EDM. Notably, Skrillex called him “essential to the future of pop music.”

Long-time friends Travie McCoy (Gym Class Heroes) and DJ Sliink have been waiting to collaborate and recently teamed up to re-release the classic "Cupids Chokehold" fresh for 2023. Pop meets club, music meets dance - two eras combining for a powerful performance. Tapping into the nostalgia wave, it’s a re-release of the classic anthem. Sliink flipped “Cupids Chokehold” and added his signature Jersey Club production to the classic that is ready to hit a new generation.

Gym Class Heroes paid its dues in the 90s, playing college parties and clubs across the East Coast. The band was already self-releasing its music in 2003 when it was invited to join the Vans Warped Tour for the first time. It was a good fit, and the band would eventually play the popular music festival four times throughout its career.

Gym Class Heroes released the band’s second studio album, The Papercut Chronicles, in 2005. It contains the original version of “Cupid’s Chokehold,” a song with samples from Supertramp’s “Breakfast In America” and guest vocals by Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy. (The Papercut Chronicles will make its vinyl debut with the upcoming release.)

Gym Class Heroes re-recorded “Cupid’s Chokehold” for its next album, 2006’s As Cruel as School Children. That version became the band’s first Top 10 hit on the Billboard Hot 100 in early 2007. It was on the charts for months, certified triple platinum, and was one of the most-played songs on the radio in 2007.

Following that success, Gym Class Heroes returned in 2008 with The Quilt. The record is packed with great tracks and guest artists, including Estelle, The-Dream, and Daryl Hall of Hall & Oates. Legendary rapper Busta Rhymes appeared on the album’s first single, “Peace Sign/Index Down.”

McCoy briefly stepped away from the band to release his 2010 solo debut, Lazarus. The album was a hit, peaking at #25 and earning gold certification. It includes the hit single “Billionaire” with guest vocalist Bruno Mars. The track peaked at #4 on the Billboard Hot 100 and was certified quadruple platinum. (Lazarus will make its vinyl debut with the upcoming release.)

Gym Class Heroes regrouped in 2011 for The Papercut Chronicles II, the band’s fifth and most recent studio album. It features their biggest hit, “Stereo Hearts,” with vocals by Maroon 5’s Adam Levine. The song peaked at #4 on the Billboard Hot 100 and was certified quintuple platinum in the U.S. and platinum or better in Canada, Great Britain, Australia, and New Zealand. The Papercut Chronicles II will make its vinyl debut with the upcoming release.

Color variants of each release will be available this summer as retail exclusives. The Papercut Chronicles (emerald), As Cruel As School Children (silver), The Quilt (grape), The Papercut Chronicles II (cobalt), and Lazarus (tangerine).

Something is brewing this year for Gym Class Heroes. The band will back on stage for the first time since 2018 for this year's When We Were Young Fest in Las Vegas this October.

“I couldn’t be more ecstatic for this next chapter in the book of Gym Class Heroes," Travie McCoy said in a press statement. "If you’ve missed us as much as we’ve missed you, you’re in for a good read, quiet in the library but wild the fuck out in Gym Class."

2-LP Track Listing

Side A
1.    “Za Intro”
2.    “Papercuts”
3.    “Petrified Life And The Twice Told Joke (Decrepit Bricks)”
4.    “Make Out Club”
5.    “Taxi Driver”

Side B
1.    “So Long Friend”
2.    “Everyday’s Forecast”
3.    “Pillmatic”
4.    “Simple Livin’”

Side C
1.    “Cupid’s Chokehold” – featuring Patrick Stump
2.    “Faces In The Hall”
3.    “Graduation Day”
4.    “Apollo 3-1-5”
5.    “Wejusfreestylin' Pt. 2”

Side D
1.    “To Bob Ross With Love”
2.    “Papercuts (The Reason for the Lesions Remix by Mr. Dibbs)”
3.    “Kid Nothing vs. The Echo Factor”
4.    “Band Aids”

Track Listing

Side A
1.    “The Queen and I”
2.    “Shoot Down The Stars”
3.    “New Friend Request”
4.    “Clothes Off!!” – featuring Patrick Stump
5.    “Sloppy Love Jingle, Pt. 1”
6.    “Viva la White Girl”
7.    “7 Weeks” – featuring William Beckett

Side B
1.    “It’s Ok, But Just This Once!”
2.    “Sloppy Love Jingle, Pt. 2”
3.    “Biters Block”
4.    “Boys In Bands Interlude”
5.    “Scandalous Scholastics”
6.    “On My Own Time (Write On!)”
7.    “Cupid’s Chokehold / Breakfast In America” – featuring Patrick Stump
8.    “Sloppy Love Jingle, Pt. 3”

2-LP Track Listing

Side A
1.    “Guilty As Charged” – featuring Estelle
2.    “Drnk Txt Rmeo”
3.    “Peace Sign/Index Down” – featuring Busta Rhymes
4.    “Like Father, Like Son (Papa’s Song)”

Side B
1.    “Blinded By The Sun”
2.    “Catch Me If You Can”
3.    “Cookie Jar” – featuring The-Dream
4.    “Live A Little”

Side C
1.    “Don’t Tell Me It’s Over”
2.    “Live Forever (Fly With Me)” – featuring feat. Daryl Hall
3.    “Kissin’ Ears” – featuring The-Dream

Side D
1.    “Home”
2.    “No Place To Run”
3.    “Coming Clean”

LAZARUS – Travie McCoy
Track Listing

Side A
1.    “Dr. Feel Good” – featuring CeeLo Green
2.    “Superbad”
3.    “Billionaire” – featuring Bruno Mars
4.    “Need You”
5.    “Critical” – featuring Tim William

Side B
1.    “Akidagain”
2.    “We’ll Be Alright”
3.    “The Manual” – featuring T-Pain and Young Cash
4.    “After Midnight”
5.    “Don’t Pretend” – featuring Colin Munroe

Track Listing

Side A
1.    “Za Intro”
2.    “Martyrial Girl$”
3.    “Life Goes On” – featuring Oh Land
4.    “Stereo Hearts” – featuring Adam Levine
5.    “Solo Discotheque (Whiskey Bitness)”
6.    “Holy Horseshit, Batman!”

Side B
1.    “Ass Back Home” – featuring Neon Hitch
2.    “Nil-Nil-Draw”
3.    “Lazarus, Ze Gitan”
4.    “The Fighter” – featuring Ryan Tedder
5.    “Kid Nothing And The Never-Ending Naked Nightmare”