Christine McVie's Final Two Solo Albums IN THE MEANTIME and CHRISTINE McVIE Set for Reissues

Wednesday, July 12, 2023
Christine McVie

Rhino is celebrating Christine McVie today on what would have been the beloved singer-songwriter’s 80th birthday. While she has been deeply missed since her death last November, the music she made, both with Fleetwood Mac and as a solo artist, continues to resonate with fans worldwide. In honor of McVie’s enduring legacy, Rhino is introducing new music today and announcing plans to release remastered versions of her final two solo albums this fall.

The first release out today is a new Dolby Atmos and stereo mix of In The Meantime created by McVie’s nephew Dan Perfect, who helped write and produce the original in 2004. The collection also includes “Little Darlin’,” a previously unreleased gem unearthed from those recording sessions. Listen to the new mixes HERE. The other release out today is by Mick Fleetwood, the legendary drummer and co-founder of Fleetwood Mac, who pays tribute to his bandmate with a touching new instrumental version of “Songbird” featuring ‘ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro. LISTEN HERE

Later this year, McVie’s work as a solo artist will get its due when Rhino reissues two of her albums on November 3. CHRISTINE McVIE will be released on CD and LP. Also, a cola-bottle clear vinyl version will be available exclusively from Barnes & Noble. Pre-order HERE. On the same day, IN THE MEANTIME will be released on CD and as a 2-LP set featuring a “songbird” etching on the final side. Pre-order HERE.

McVie’s solo journey began in 1970 with her debut, Christine Perfect, her maiden name. Soon after its release, she put her solo career on hold when she joined Fleetwood Mac as a full-time member. For the next 14 years, she wrote some of the band’s biggest hits (“Don’t Stop” and “You Make Loving Fun”) before releasing her second solo album CHRISTINE McVIE in 1984. The album peaked at #26 on the Billboard 200, spending 23 weeks on the chart. The record produced two Top 40 hits on the Billboard Hot 100, “Got A Hold On Me” (#10) and “Love Will Show Us How” (#30). Notably, the album has been unavailable on vinyl since its original release nearly 40 years ago.

Although McVie semi-retired from Fleetwood Mac and public life in 1998, she continued to write music. In 2004, she returned with her third and final solo album, IN THE MEANTIME. McVie produced the album with her nephew, Dan Perfect. The album was remastered and remixed for the upcoming release, including the previously unreleased outtake, “Little Darlin’.” In The Meantime has never been available on vinyl until now.

McVie was involved in the creation of the new Atmos mixes for IN THE MEANTIME before she passed away last year. In the liner notes, Dan Perfect writes: “When my aunt Christine McVie died unexpectedly last year, plans were already afoot for the re-release of this solo album, which is perhaps her most personal and intimate project. Chris and I had been working for some time on remixing the original tracks in Dolby Atmos, and Chris was excited and intrigued by this process, which was bringing fresh life and contemporaneity to the songs… I dearly wish that she could have lived to see this re-release as she would have been delighted.”

LP Track Listing

Side One
1.    “Love Will Show Us How”
2.    “The Challenge”
3.    “So Excited”
4.    “One In A Million”
5.    “Ask Anybody”

Side Two
1.    “Got A Hold On Me”
2.    “Who’s Dreaming This Dream”
3.    “I’m The One”
4.    “Keeping Secrets”
5.    “The Smile I Live For”

2-LP Track Listing

Side One
1.    “Friend”
2.    “You Are”
3.    “Northern Star”