Instant Gratification: The Pogues, “Sally MacLennane” (The John Peel Show, Dec. 1984)

Monday, September 14, 2020
The Pogues THE BBC SESSIONS 1984 - 1986 Cover

If you’re a Pogues fan as well as a vinyl aficionado, then it’s reasonable to presume that you rushed out on August 29, a.k.a. Record Store Day, and – if you had the luck of the Irish – picked up a copy of the vinyl release of THE BBC SESSIONS 1984-1986, a 23-track album including 13 performances which were previously unreleased beyond their initial airing.

If you missed out on the reissue of the LP, we’ve got good news for you: on October 30, Rhino will be releasing The Pogues’ THE BBC SESSIONS 1984-1986 digitally as well as on CD.

These 23 songs are taken from six separate live sessions:

    The John Peel Show (April 1984)
    The David ‘Kid’ Jensen Show (July 1984)
    The John Peel Show (December 1984)
    The Phil Kennedy Show (March 1985)
    The Janice Long Show (July 1985)
    The Janice Long Show (November 1986)

If you’d like to get an idea of what to expect, we can oblige: we’re teasing the release with a performance of “Sally MacLennane” from the aforementioned December 1984 live session with legendary UK DJ John Peel.

What’s that? You say you’d like to know the full track listing? Well, you truly do have the luck of the Irish, because that’s exactly what’s coming up next!

Track Listing:   

Broadcast 17/4/84 (as Pogue Mahone) - The John Peel Show
1)      Streams Of Whiskey*
2)      Greenland Whale Fisheries*
3)      Boys From The County Hell*
4)      The Auld Triangle
Broadcast 9th July 1984 - David ‘Kid’ Jensen
5)      Dingle Regatta*
6)      Poor Paddy On The Railway
7)      Boys From The County Hell
8)      Connemara, Let’s Go*
Broadcast 12th December 1984 - John Peel Show
9)      Whiskey You’re The Devil*
10)    Navigator*
11)    Sally MacLennane
12)    Danny Boy
Broadcast 2nd March 1985 - The Phil Kennedy Show
13)    A Pair Of Brown Eyes ***
14)    Muirshin Durkin ***
15)    Sally MacLennane ***
Broadcast 11th July 1985 - Janice Long Show
16)    Wild Cats Of Kilkenny*
17)    Billy’s Bones
18)    The Old Main Drag
19)    Dirty Old Town*
Broadcast 5th November 1986 - Janice Long Show

20)    If I Should Fall From Grace With God ***
21)    Lullaby Of London ***
22)    The Rake At The Gates Of Hell ***
23)    Turkish Song Of The Damned ***

*** Not featured on RSD vinyl release

For more information, click the buttons below: